The Musical Sculpture Garden

June 10, 2021

This project will offer out audience a unique opportunity to stroll through Rancho San Rafael park while enjoying solo musicians performing short works, including several of our winners from the Micro-commission Project. We will also be premiering several new pieces written specifically for this event. Visit our Events page for more details.

July's Month of Micro-Commissions

July, 2021

reNEW will be releasing an audio or video recording of a new piece EVERY DAY throughout the month of July, featuring all-new works created within the past 12 months, mostly composed by local composers. Visit our Events page for more details.

The Micro-Commission Project

July, 2020

After several weeks and over one-hundred submissions, we are proud to have selected several winning pieces to record! Enjoy this playlist of recordings of all our winning pieces.

Winning composers and pieces

  • Jeff Manookian - Vision Fugitive for solo violin

  • Kent Philip Baker - The Bearer of Evil Tidings for solo horn

  • Eddie Bean - Petition for solo cello

  • Dario Argentesi - Captain Violin's Arrival, Sword Fight & Goodbye for solo violin

  • Neo Korths - The blackbird in the forest for violin and horn

  • Moritz Laßmann - Epigram for solo cello

  • David Jason Snow - A bisl shnaps far di fidler

  • Monica Houghton - Yellow grass for solo violin

  • Jean-Pierre Vial - Rêverie for solo horn

  • John Secunde - A window for solo cello

  • Zach Gulaboff Davis - Whirlwind for solo violin

  • Giliad Cohen - La Petit Amaleque for two violins